The Republic of the Gambia is a small country in West Africa. It is bordered by Senegal, with a narrow Atlantic coastline. The capital city is Banjul and the largest cities are Serekunda and Brikama. The official language is English.

During the 15th century, Gambia was a colony by the Portuguese and known as a Gâmbia. On 25 May 1765, Gambia was made a part of the British Empire when the government formally assumed control, establishing the Province of Senegambia. Gambia gained independence on February 18, 1965, as a constitutional monarchy within the Commonwealth. In 1970, Gambia was converted into a republic within the Commonwealth. 11 years later, a violent revolt shook the country. In 1981, after the coup, Gambia and Senegal signed a treaty providing for the unification of the armed forces, currency and economic space in the Confederation of Senegambia. On October 2, 2013, the Gambian government immediately declared that membership of the Commonwealth was over.

The Order of the Republic of the Gambia is the highest title and was conferred by the President of the Republic upon Gambian citizens and foreigners in recognition of meritorious service to the people of Gambia.


“The Gambia.” Gentleman’s Military Interest Club. Published on July 19, 2009.

10 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top