The Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. It is surrounded by Uganda to the south, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Somalia to the north. The country is named after Mountain Kenya, it is the highest point in the country and is 17,057 feet high. Kenya has a population of more 49 million. The capital and largest city is Nairobi. The two official languages of Kenya are English and Swahili. Kenya’s government is a Devoted Republic. They have an elected President and a Parliament.

The roots of the colonial history of Kenya go back to the Berlin Conference in 1885 when East Africa was first divided into territories of influence by the European powers. In 1888, the Imperial British East Africa Company came to Kenya and controlled the space until 1895. In 1920, Kenya officially became a British colony. The country gained its independence from the United Kingdom in 1963 and declared themselves a Republic in 1964.

The Kenya Defense Forces (KDF) are the armed forces of the Republic of Kenya. They were formed in 1963, after the independence of Kenya. The KDF has a staff of 24,120 men, with 20,000 soldiers which account for the largest land forces, called the Kenya Army.

The Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya is the highest title.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

28 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top