The Islamic Republic of Mauritania is a country in Northwest Africa. It is bounded by Atlantic Ocean, Western Sahara, Algeria, Mali and Senegal. Mauritania - it is the name from the ancient Berber kingdom of Mauretania, which existed from the 3rd century BC to the 7th century in the far north of modern-day Morocco and Algeria. The capital and largest city is Nouakchott. In Mauritania live 4,3 million people and the official language is Arabic.

Some history facts - in the 15th century, Mauritania was first explored by the Portuguese. After that, in the 19th century had gained control and became one of the colonies that constituted French West Africa. In 1960, Mauritania was released to independence. Since then, some military coup attempts have taken place, especially 2005 and 2008.

Since 2006, Mauritania is an Islamic Presidential Republic.

The Order of National Merit General was the highest title.


See the "General Sources" page in the footer.

13 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top