The Kingdom of Bhutan is a landlocked country in South Asia, nestled in the eastern end of the Himalaya mountains. It is bounded by India and China. Bhutan was founded in 1907 and held its first democratic elections in 2008. Dzongka is the official language and almost 800 thousand people live in Bhutan, a great many in Thimphu.

Bhutan was inhabited by people as early as 4,000 years back. In 1772, the almost century-old border conflict with the British East India Company began. In 1865, Britain and Bhutan signed the Treaty of Sinchulu, under which Bhutan would receive an annual subsidy in exchange for ceding some border land to British India. Under British influence, a monarchy was set up in 1907; three years later, a treaty was signed whereby the British agreed not to interfere in Bhutanese internal affairs, and Bhutan allowed Britain to direct its foreign affairs. This role was assumed by independent India after 1947. On 15 August 1947, Bhutan became one of the first countries to recognize India's independence. On 8 August 1949, a treaty similar to that of 1910, in which Britain had gained power over Bhutan's foreign relations, was signed with the newly independent India.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

39 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Bhutan

Scroll Top