The Republic of Singapore is a city-state and island country in Southeast Asia. The island is close to Malaysia and Indonesia. The capital is Singapore and 5.6 million people inhabit the city. The people in Singapore speak four official languages: English, Malay, Mandarin Chinese, and Tamil.

Singapore’s first name was Temasek, which literally meant sea town- a name which holds true still. The city-state is a result of Independence. While the British left Singapore to Malaysia in 1963, the City state became a sovereign country only in 1965.

During the Second World War, 1, 000 000 soldiers were fighting within this city-state. None were native to Singapore. The British were defending an attack from the Japanese forces.

The Republic of Singapore is a parliamentary republic with a Westminster system of unicameral parliamentary government representing constituencies. The Singaporean military is arguably the most technologically advanced in Southeast Asia. It comprises the Singapore Army, Republic of Singapore Navy, and Republic of Singapore Air Force. It is seen as the guarantor of the country's independence.

The highest award is the title Distinguished Service Order.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

68 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top