Socialist Republic of Vietnam (1976-)

The Socialist Republic of Vietnam is a country in Southeast Asia on the Indochina Peninsula and is divided into 58 provinces. It is bounded by China to the north, Laos and Cambodia to the west, part of Thailand to the southwest, and the Philippines, Malaysia, and Indonesia across the South China Sea to the east and southeast. The capital is Hanoi since the reunification of North and South Vietnam in 1976. Over 96 million people lives in Vietnam. The official language is Vietnamese.

Since 2 July 1976, North and South Vietnam were merged to form the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. The country is a unitary Marxist-Leninist one-party socialist republic now.

Under the constitution, the Communist Party of Vietnam (CPV) asserts their role in all branches of politics and society in the country. The President is the elected head of state and the commander-in-chief of the military, serving as the Chairman of the Council of Supreme Defence and Security.

The official name for the Vietnam military is "Vietnam People's Armed Forces". They have an active manpower of around 450,000.

The highest award is the title Fatherland Defence Order. This Order is conferred in recognition of achievements in training and building troops, and uniting the people's security and all-people defence into a single unit.

13 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top