Order of Faithful Service, Military Division, Grand Officer's Breast Star


SKU: 01.ROM.0109.205.01.000

  • Add an image

Estimated market value:



  • Country
    Romania (Kingdom)
  • Makers
    Heinrich Weiss, Bucharest; Joseph Resch & Sons, Bucharest; Zimmermann, Pforzheim; Moneteria Nationala, Bucharest
  • Composition
    Silver/Silver gilt/Enamelled
  • Size


The Order of Faithful Service was established by King Carol II in 1932. It was suppressed in 1947 following the abolition of the Romanian monarchy, but it was later reinstated in 2004 following the collapse of the communist regime. The President of Romania is the Grand Master.

The Order of Faithful Service is currently conferred in six grades and two divisions upon Romanian citizens, military units, and foreigners in recognition of long and meritorious service to the nation. At the time of its creation, the Order was awarded in three grades: Grand Cross, Grand Officer, and Commander. The Collar and Officer grades were added in 1937, and the Grand Officer, Commander and Officer grades were suppressed in 1939. From 1937-1941, the Order could also be conferred with swords in recognition of wartime merit.

There was a peacetime limit of 50 members in the Grand Officer grade from 1932-1938, and 70 members from 1938-1939. There is a current peacetime limit of 240 members in the Civil Division and 60 in the Military Division. There has never been a limit on wartime conferral.

There are four versions of the Grand Officer Breast Star. The first and second versions feature a surmounting crown and the royal coat of arms of Romania. The first version is an eight-pointed star and the second version is a four-pointed star. The third and fourth versions feature the national coat of arms of Romania. The Grand Officer Breast Star (Military Division) features swords.

There may be additional versions of the Grand Officer Breast Star that differ in size or composition due to a variety of manufacturers.

The other versions are listed in the Orders of Romania (1990-). See also the Faithful Service Medal (ROM123) and the Faithful Service Cross (ROM131) in the Medals & Decorations of the Kingdom of Romania (1881-1947) for the awards that preceded the Order of Faithful Service.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top