Order of Faithful Service, Civil Division, Knight's Cross

SKU: 01.ROM.0132.108.01

Estimated market value:

$ Click to See Price/Value

  • Add an image


  • country
  • date of institution
    April 18, 1932
  • makers
    Monetaria Statului, Bucharest


The Order of Faithful Service was established by King Carol II in 1932. It was suppressed in 1947 following the abolition of the Romanian monarchy, but it was later reinstated in 2004 following the collapse of the communist regime. The President of Romania is the Grand Master.

The Order of Faithful Service is currently conferred in six grades and two divisions upon Romanian citizens, military units, and foreigners in recognition of long and meritorious service to the nation. At the time of its creation, the Order was awarded in three grades: Grand Cross, Grand Officer, and Commander. The Collar and Officer grades were added in 1937, and the Grand Officer, Commander and Officer grades were suppressed in 1939. From 1937-1941, the Order could also be conferred with swords in recognition of wartime merit.

There is a peacetime limit of 2400 members in the Civil Division and 600 in the Military Division. There has never been a limit on wartime conferral.

There are three versions of the Knight. The Knight (Military Division, peacetime) features surmounting swords and the Knight (Military Division, wartime) features swords that run through the cross. All versions have a reverse inscription that translates to "Faithful Service."

See also the Faithful Service Medal and the Faithful Service Cross in the Medals & Decorations of the Kingdom of Romania (1881-1947) for the awards that preceded the Order of Faithful Service.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


  • Price


  • Composition


  • Inscription


  • Size


  • Maker

    Monetaria Statului, Bucharest

  • Version Remarks

  • View Item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top