Royal Order of the Crown of Hawaii, Grand Officer


SKU: 01.HAW.0104.102.01.000

  • Add an image

Estimated market value:



  • Country
  • Composition
  • Inscription


The Royal Order of the Crown of Hawaii was originally founded by Kamehameha III as the Order of the Crown and Cross in 1848. It was revived by King Kalakaua on September 12, 1882 to commemorate his accession to the throne, and is considered the first royal knighthood for the Hawaiian Kingdom. The Order was awarded specifically for exceptional services rendered to the Sovereign or the State of Hawaii. There are 7 classes, Grand Cross, Grand Officer, Commander, Officer, Companion, and two under grades of medals.

The Grand Officer bears the same design as the Grand Cross but is small in size. It could be awarded with or without the cordon, however did not include the Commander Pendant. This award was conferred on 51 foreigners and subjects (limited to 25), with the latter paying an admittance fee of $125. The Grand Officer was awarded to the Premier of Hawaii in 1883, and to the Hawaiian Minister of Finance in 1886.

This Order was conferred on 204 individuals by King Kalakaua and 31 by Queen Liliuokalani. The Grand Council of this Order met only once, on January 21, 1884. The Royal Order of the Crown of Hawaii was the last order to be awarded (Companion, James Dunn, Hawaiian Consul Glasgow, 1892) before the monarchy was overthrown. However, the Order has recently been revived and amended by HRH Princess Owana Ka’ohelelani Salazar, Head of Royal House of Keoua Nui and Grandmaster of the Order in 2017, to again recognize distinguished service to the Hawaiian Nation.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top