Kingdom of Laos

After the French, Laos existed as the Kingdom of Laos from 1949 to 1975. After the Franco-Lao Treaty of 1953, which gave Laos independence, the Royal Lao Government took control of the country. This treaty established a constitutional monarchy, with Sisavang Vong as King and Prince Souvanna Phouma as Prime Minister.

The Kingdom of Laos was divided into these military regions. The Royal Lao Armed Forces, , the Royal Lao Army, the Royal Lao Navy, and the Royal Lao Air Force.

The Order of a Million Elephants and the White Parasol was the highest title and was instituted by King Sisavang Vong.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

41 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top