Order of Agricultural Merit, Type III, Cross (reduced size)


SKU: 01.ESP.0122.306.01.001

  • Add an image

Estimated market value:



  • Country
  • Composition
  • Inscription
  • Size
  • Version Remarks
    This version is used for official events, and it is given to the recipients if they asked for it.


The Order of Agricultural Merit (Orden al Mérito Agrícola) was founded by King Alfonso XIII on December 1, 1905. It was awarded in recognition of those individuals who had encouraged the agricultural practices within Spain.

The Order had three original grades; Grand Cross, Silver Cross, and Cross. In 1906, The Grand Cross, Commander by Number (also known as Grand Officer), Commander, and Knight were added to the Order. The Bronze Medal was added in 1926.

The Order was annulled by the Second Spanish Republic in 1931, and it was reinstated by General Francisco Franco on October 14, 1942.

On February 27, 1987, The Order was re-instituted as the Order of Agrarian, Fishery and Alimentary Merit (Orden al Mérito Agrícola, Pesquero y Alimenticio), and these new categories were created; the Order was divided into Agrarian, Fishery, and Alimentary Merit. The Order's structure is the same for each branch, however their central medallion design and inscriptions vary depending on the merit. .

Since 1980, the grades are Grand Cross, Commander of Number, Commander, Officer, Knight, and Bronze Medal.

Currently, the Order is conferred upon Spanish and foreign citizens in recognition of meritorious services rendered to agricultural practices in fields such as, technology, industry, technique, among others. There is a special grade called the Great Cross for Agrarian, Fishery and Alimentary Merit, which is awarded for merit achieved in all of the three branches.

This Order is the highest distinction for Agriculture merit in Spain.

The Order is classified into three types. Type I includes the Great Cross to Agrarian, Fishery and Alimentary Merit, and the Agrarian Merit branch. Type II includes the awards of Fishery Merit, while Type III includes the Alimentary Merit branch.

In Type III, the Order features the image of bread baking with an obverse inscription that translates to "Alimentary Merit."


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top