Albert Order, Type II, Civil Division, II Class Knight (in silver gilt)


SKU: 01.SXK.0108.109.01.000

Estimated market value:

$350+ USD

  • Type II, Civil Division, II Class Knight (in silver gilt)
  • Type II, Civil Division, II Class Knight (in silver gilt)
  • Type II, Civil Division, II Class Knight (in silver gilt)

Estimated market value:

$350+ USD


  • Country
  • Composition
    Silver/Silver gilt/Enamelled
  • Inscription
    Obv: ALBERTUS ANIMOSUS Rev: 1850
  • Size
  • Image Licensing

Physical Description and Item Details

1876-1918 Issue. (Albrechtsorden Ritterkreuz 2. Klasse). A Latin cross constructed of silver with white enameled arms; the obverse with a central white enameled medallion bearing the leftward facing bust of Herzog Albrecht in silver gilt, surrounded by a blue enameled ring inscribed “Albertus Animous” (Latin - Albert the Merciful), along with arabesques towards the bottom of the enameled ring all in silver gilt; the reverse with a crowned royal coat of arms in silver gilt, surrounded by a blue enameled ring, dated “1850”, along with arabesques; on a loop for supension from its period original ribbon; marked “S” for “Schaffenberg, Dresden” on the bottom of the six o’clock arm; measuring 34.22 mm (w) x 44.48 mm (h); weighing 17.4 grams; in overall virtually mint condition.

Footnote. With a total of 5571 of this Albrecht Order Second Class Knight’s Cross awarded.


This Order was instituted by King Freidrich August II in commemoration of the 350th anniversary of the death of his predecessor Duke Albert III, also known as Albert the Bold.

The Order was awarded to recognize general merit and service to the States, such as civil merit, military merit, and merit in art and science.

In 1866 crossed swords began to be added through the centre of the awards conferred for bravery and military merit during wartime. The crossed swords were also featured on the overarching ring of the award after 1871.

The Type I awards were meant to feature the portrait of Duke Albert III on the obverse, but the wrong image was selected and they actually featured the portrait of Albert the Perennial. The mistake was eventually fixed, and the correct portrait was used in the Type II awards.

The Type I awards are known as the "Baker Cap" Type and the Type II awards are known as the "Hinged Cap" or "Young Portrait" Type.

The Type II awards were amended on January 1, 1876.

The Knight was divided into the two grades of I Class Knight and II Class Knight in 1876, leading to the discontinuation of the Honour Cross.

There is limited information regarding this item.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top