The Federal Republic of Nigeria is a country in West Africa and is the most populous country in Africa. It is bounded by Niger, Chad, Cameroon and Benin. Nigeria is divided into 36 states. The capital city is Abuja, the largest city is Lagos. The country has a population of 198 million people. English is the official language, but there are over 500 indigenous languages in Nigeria.

The Portuguese was the first one, which reached Nigeria in 1472. However, in 1861 became Nigeria a British colony. Just in 1960, Nigeria became a formally independent federation. After that was a civil war from 1967 to 1970. The country switched between democratically elected civilian governments and military dictatorships until it achieved a stable democracy in 1999, with the 2011 presidential election considered the first to be reasonably free and fair.

Nigeria has a professional army with 77,100 men.

The National Productivity Order of Merit was the highest title.


See the "General Sources" page in the footer.

78 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top