The Republic of the Union of Myanmar, also known as Burma, is a country in Southeast Asia. It is surrounded by India, Bangladesh, Thailand, Laos and China. Over 53 million people live in Myanmar. The capital city is Naypyidaw. The official language is Burmese.

In 1050, the residents developed the Burmese language and culture in Myanmar. The country was for a brief period the largest empire in the history of Mainland Southeast Asia in the 16th century. The early 19th century Konbaung Dynasty ruled over an area that included modern Myanmar and briefly controlled Manipur and Assam as well. Myanmar was colonised by the British in 1824 and remained under their rule until the Second World War, when Japan invaded and it became a major battleground. Burma achieved independence in 1948. Since then, armed conflicts have continued in various parts of the country, where ethnic minorities are violently fighting for more autonomy or independence. After a brief democratic period until 1962, Burma was controlled by various military regimes.

The armed forces of Myanmar, called Tatmadaw, have played a crucial political role since the founding of the state. They comprise about 428,000 soldiers and 72,000 paramilitary forces such as the border troops and special police forces.

The Order of the Star of the Revolution is the highest title and as conferred upon individuals in recognition of service in military and civil struggles associated with obtaining independence.


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

166 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Myanmar

Scroll Top