Order of Military Merit, V Class (with bravery ribbon 1912-1944)


SKU: 01.BGR.0106.109.01.003

Estimated market value:

$220 USD

  • Order of Military Merit, V Class (with bravery ribbon 1912-1944)
  • Order of Military Merit, V Class (with bravery ribbon 1912-1944) Reverse
  • Order of Military Merit, V Class (with bravery ribbon 1912-1944)
  • Order of Military Merit, V Class (with bravery ribbon 1912-1944) Reverse

Estimated market value:

$220 USD


  • Country
    Bulgaria (Kingdom)
  • Composition
  • Inscription
    Obv: 3А ВОЕННА 3АСЛУГА Rev: 2 АВГУСТЪ 1891
  • Size
    48mm x 75mm

Physical Description and Item Details

Bulgaria, Kingdom. A Military Merit Order, V Class Knight

Type I: Silver with red and green enamels, 48 mm x 75 mm inclusive of its crown suspension, scattered chipping and enamel loss in the base of the crown suspension, near extremely fine.


This Order was instituted by Ferdinand I and it was conferred upon military personnel in recognition of significant contributions to the development of the Bulgarian Army, and for dedicated, exceptional service.

The Order of Civil Merit and the Order of Military Merit have the same level of precedence.

The Order originally consisted of 6 grades, and the Grand Cross with Grand Cross Breast Star was added to the Order in 1933 by Boris III.

In November 1916 Ferdinand I added an additional military distinction to the awards conferred for military merit in wartime, which took the form of an enamelled laurel wreath. He also added diamonds to the Grand Cross with Grand Cross Breast Star, I Class with I Class Breast Star, II Class with II Class Breast Star, and III Class that were awarded to recognize exceptionally brave wartime actions.

The awards issued during the reign of Ferdinand I and Boris III feature an obverse inscription that translates to "For Military Merit", and a reverse inscription that translates to "2 August 1891".

From 1944-1946 (Type II) the Order was awarded by the Regency government. The awards issued during this period feature a lion wearing a crown on the obverse medallion, and the Bulgarian flag on the reverse medallion.

In 1946 (Type II) the Order design was altered by the new Republic government. The awards issued from 1946-1947 feature a surmounting wreath, and a crown-less lion on the obverse medallion.

In 2004, the Order was reinstated as the third highest Bulgarian Order.

The Order awards issued during the Regency and Republican periods were manufactured in Bulgaria.

Due to the variety of manufacturers and Monarchs who issued the Order, the awards feature numerous modifications in size, composition, and design.

The awards were issued during the Monarchy and Regency.

Beginning in 1912 the IV Class, V Class, and VI Class could be awarded on a Bravery ribbon to signify meritorious wartime actions. The Bravery ribbon is light blue with silver stripes along both exterior edges.

The V Class is also known as the Knight, and it was awarded to Non-Commissioned Officers, Company and Section Commanders, and volunteer military personnel.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top