Order of the Zähringer Lion, Commander Breast Star (in silver and gold)


SKU: 01.BAD.0103.105.01.000

Estimated market value:

$3,000 USD

  • Order of the Zähringer Lion, Commander Breast Star (in silver and gold) Obverse
  • Order of the Zähringer Lion, Commander Breast Star (in silver and gold) Reverse

Estimated market value:

$3,000 USD


  • Country
  • Composition
  • Inscription
  • Size
  • Version Remarks
    Until 1866, 44 were awarded. Until 1918, another 40 were awarded, three of those to recipients of the Commander's Cross with Oak Leaves.

Physical Description and Item Details

A silver star consisting of four arms, each composed of a cluster of individual rays, with arabesques in each quadrant. The obverse bears a gold cross centre featuring four green-enamelled arms with ribbed borders, the obverse central medallion presents the hand-painted ruins of the Stammschloss (family castle) Zähringen, red-enamelled ring surrounds the medallion, with a hand-filed motto in gold stating FÜR EHRE UND WAHRHEIT (for honour and truth). The reverse centre presents principle pin assembly. Measuring 89.35 mm (w) x 90.51 mm (h) and weighing 56.9 grams.


The Order of the Zähringer Lion was established by Grand Duke Charles on December 26, 1812. It is also suggested by historians that the order was founded by Grand Duke Karl in 1809 and was named in honor of his ancestors, the Dukes of Zähringen. The Order of the Zähringer Lion was awarded to recognize civil and military merit. The first order conferral ceremonies took place in 1815. Members of the grand ducal house were born members of the order.

The order originally featured three classes: Grand Cross (and Grand Cross Breast Star), Commander and Knight. In 1815, surmounting golden oak leaves could be awarded with all classes to indicate additional merit and achievements. The oak leaves originally included an “L” cipher, but it was eventually discontinued in 1866. On June 17, 1840, the statutes of the Order were officially instituted by Grand Duke Ludwig. At that point, the Commander class was divided into I Class Commander (and I Class Commander Breast Star) and II Class Commander. In 1866, the Knight class was divided into I Class and II Class Knight. Swords were also instituted to indicate war merit. The first collar was awarded in 1868.

In 1879, the statutes were altered to permit a cross with swords to be worn beside a higher rank awarded later. Grand Duke Friedrich I also determined that Officers and war officials of the Grand Ducal Army Corps, who were bearers of the Order of Military Merit of Charles Frederick and the Order of the Zähringer Lion had to carry the latter with swords. On the occasion of Grand Duke Friedrich I’s 25 year governing jubilee in 1877, the order grew to six classes as the Knight of the Order of Berthold I was added. On April 29, 1889, a Merit Cross was added as an order grade to reward civilians for exceptional bravery and merit. The addition of the Knight of the Order of Berthold I was separated from the Order of the Zähringer Lion in its own order on September 9, 1896.

Recipients of the order could incorporate the insignia of the order into their coat of arms. If a person upgraded a class or died, the order had to be returned. The awards without swords were conferred for civil merit, while the awards with swords were conferred to recognize military merit.

The I Class Commander and II Class Commander are identical, the only difference between the two grades is that the I Class Commander is awarded with an associated Breast Star.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top