Royal Guelphic Order, Commander with Swords


SKU: 01.HAN.0102.203.01.000

Estimated market value:

$4,850 USD

  • Royal Guelphic Order, Commander with Swords Obverse
  • Royal Guelphic Order, Commander with Swords Reverse

Estimated market value:

$4,850 USD


  • Country
  • Composition
  • Inscription
  • Size
    46x83mm; 25x23mm (crown); 25x1.5mm (swords)
  • Image Licensing
    The image of the Royal Guelphic Order, Commander with Swords is attributed to Andreas Thies, Catalog 42, June 22, 2010. Please see the following page for more information:

Physical Description and Item Details

A Maltese cross constructed of gold and enamels. The arms of the cross are textured with smooth borders and ball finials at the points of the arms. The quadrants between the arms contain a lion passant. The obverse centre bears a circular medallion with the image of a white horse on a red enamel background, encompassed by a blue enamel border with the inscription "NEC ASPERA TERRENT" within a green enamel oak leaf wreath. The reverse centre bears a circular medallion with the crowned cipher of King George IV, within a border with the institution date in Roman numerals "MDCCCXV", encompassed by a green enamel oak leaf wreath. Between the points of the 12 o'clock arm there is an ornate detailing. Topped with two crossed swords, a crown and on a loop for suspension. Weighing 39.5 grams.


The Royal Guelphic Order was instituted by King George IV, at the time the Prince Regent of Great Britain, on August 12, 1815. This was not only his father George III’s birthday, but was also the 101st anniversary of the first Hanoverian monarch, George I, ascending the English throne. The order was named after the House of Guelph, of which the Hanoverians were a branch. The Royal Guelphic Order was awarded to those who displayed acts of bravery, prudent behavior in front of the enemy, and military merit. Military personnel could also receive the civilian decoration, although this was only discussed and never applied in practice. The Grand Master of the order was always the King of Hanover, and the number of members in the order was unlimited.

From 1815 to 1841, the award was issued in three classes: Knight Grand Cross, Knight Commander, and Knight. From 1841 onward, the award was issued in five classes: Knight Grand Cross, I Class Commander, II Class Commander, Knight, and Cross of Merit. The grades of this order were conferred in two divisions, the Military Division and the Civil Division. The Military Division awards feature crossed swords, while the Civil Division awards do not have swords. After the death of a recipient, the order had to be returned to the chancellery. The names and coat of arms of recipients were displayed in the castle church in Hannover. An annual festival was held every year on the foundation date of the order.

The order stopped being issued by the British Crown following the death of King William IV in 1837, at which time the union between the United Kingdom and the Kingdom of Hanover ended. The order continues to be awarded today, and the head of the Hanoverian House, Prince Ernst August is the current chancellor.

The I Class Commander is usually not conferred upon civilians or military personnel with a rank below Major General. The I and II Class Commander Crosses are identical, but the I Class Commander is awarded with a Breast Star.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top