Royal Guelphic Order, Knight's Cross with Swords (with diamonds)


SKU: 01.HAN.0102.205.01.001

Estimated market value:

$5,000 USD

  • Add an image

Estimated market value:

$5,000 USD


  • Country
  • Composition
  • Inscription
  • Size
    33x56mm; 19x19.5mm (crown); 21x2mm (swords)
  • Version Remarks
    This version contains diamonds and is presumably a private purchase, as an official awarding cannot be verified.

Physical Description and Item Details

A Maltese cross constructed of gold, diamonds, and enamels. The arms of the cross are textured with smooth borders and ball finials at the points of the arms. The quadrants between the arms contain a lion passant. The obverse centre bears a circular medallion with the image of a white horse on a red enamel background, encompassed by a blue enamel border with the inscription "NEC ASPERA TERRENT" within a green enamel oak leaf wreath. The reverse centre bears a circular medallion with the crowned cipher of King George IV, within a border with the institution date in Roman numerals "MDCCCXV", encompassed by a green enamel oak leaf wreath. Between the points of the 12 o'clock arm there is an ornate detailing. Topped with two crossed swords and a crown and on a loop for suspension. On a light blue ribbon. Weighing 19.8 grams.


The Royal Guelphic Order was instituted by King George IV, at the time the Prince Regent of Great Britain, on August 12, 1815. This was not only his father George III’s birthday, but was also the 101st anniversary of the first Hanoverian monarch, George I, ascending the English throne. The order was named after the House of Guelph, of which the Hanoverians were a branch. The Royal Guelphic Order was awarded to those who displayed acts of bravery, prudent behavior in front of the enemy, and military merit. Military personnel could also receive the civilian decoration, although this was only discussed and never applied in practice. The Grand Master of the order was always the King of Hanover, and the number of members in the order was unlimited.

From 1815 to 1841, the award was issued in three classes: Knight Grand Cross, Knight Commander, and Knight. From 1841 onward, the award was issued in five classes: Knight Grand Cross, I Class Commander, II Class Commander, Knight, and Cross of Merit. The grades of this order were conferred in two divisions, the Military Division and the Civil Division. The Military Division awards feature crossed swords, while the Civil Division awards do not have swords. After the death of a recipient, the order had to be returned to the chancellery. The names and coat of arms of recipients were displayed in the castle church in Hannover. An annual festival was held every year on the foundation date of the order.

The order stopped being issued by the British Crown following the death of King William IV in 1837, at which time the union between the United Kingdom and the Kingdom of Hanover ended. The order continues to be awarded today, and the head of the Hanoverian House, Prince Ernst August is the current chancellor.


Item For Sale By

Be the first to sell this item

Wanted By

Be the first to request this item


Sign in to comment and reply.

Scroll Top