Westphalia is a part of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany.

From 1807 to 1813 was Westphalia a Kingdom. It was a Client state of the French Empire. The Kingdom was ruled by Napoleon's brother Jérôme Bonaparte, by merging territories ceded by the Kingdom of Prussia in the Peace of Tilsit. The capital city was Cassel and the population of Westphalia was over 2,6 millions. After six years ends the Kingdom, with Napoleon's defeat in the Battle of Leipzig, as a result of which his power collapsed in Europe.

After that, received Prussia a large amount of territories in the Westphalian region and created the Province of Westphalia, as a result of the Congress of Vienna. From then on it was part of the Kingdom of Prussia.
From 1918 to 1946 was Westphalia a Free State of Prussia.

After the WWII, the state joined to the newly created state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

12 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top