The Kingdom of Thailand is a country at the center of the Southeast Asian Indochinese peninsula, composed of 76 provinces and over 1,400 islands.

The capital and largest city is Bangkok, officially the hottest city in the world. Over 68 million people live in Thailand. The official language is Thai. Head of State is the king, who is also the top patron of Buddhism in Thailand.

For most of its history, Thailand was known as Siam. After reforms which occurred in 1932 which transformed the country from an absolute monarchy to a constitutional monarchy, the name was changed in 1939 to Thailand. In 1945, the name reverted back to Siam and in 1949 it changed back again to Thailand. The word “Thai” refers to the name of the largest ethnic group in the country.

The different Formation from Thailand were:

• Sukhothai Kingdom (1238-1448)
• Ayutthaya Kingdom (1351-1767)
• Thonburi Kingdom (1768-1782)
• Rattanakosin Kingdom (6 April 178)
• Constitutional monarchy (24 June 1932)
• Current constitution (6 April 2017)

Thailand was the only country in South East Asia which was not colonized by Europeans. All of its neighbours were controlled by either the British or the French.

The Kingdom of Thailand has a military service called the Royal Thai Armed Forces. The Head of the Thai Armed Forces is King of Thailand. The Royal Thai Armed Forces consist of the following branches: Royal Thai Army, Royal Thai Navy, Royal Thai Marine Corps, Royal Thai Air Force and other Paramilitary Forces.

The Order of the Most Illustrious Order of the Royal House of Chakri was the highest title. The Order was established by King Rama V to commemorate the Bangkok Centennial, and it is conferred upon members of the Royal Family and foreign Heads of State. The Order may be awarded to both men (Knight) and women (Dames).


See the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

153 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top