Württemberg is a historical German territory. The country emerged in the 11th century from the dominion of the House of Württemberg on the central Neckar out. It forms with two other historical territories, Baden and Hohenzollern, the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg.

Since the 12th century it was a county, but the country became duchy in 1495. Württemberg became later a Dutchy, Electorate and a Kingdom.
The Kingdom of Württemberg existed from 1805 to 1918. It had boarders with Bavaria, Baden and with the Prussian province of Hohenzollern. The Kingdom had an area of 19,508 km2 and a population of 2,4 million in 1910.

From 1806 to 1813 the country was a member of the Rhine Confederation, which was oriented towards the interests of France. At the end of the WWI, Württemberg became a free state within the Weimar Republic.

During the Nazi period in Germany, the state was merged briefly into the "gau" of Württemberg-Hohenzollern. At the end of the WWII, the state was split between the US and French Allied Occupation Zones in Germany and became parts of two new states: Württemberg-Baden and Württemberg-Hohenzollern. In 1952 these states were merged with Baden and form the state of Baden-Württemberg.

150 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Germany

Scroll Top