The European Scandinavian nation of Denmark (Capital: Copenhagen), officially the Kingdom of Denmark, is the smallest and southernmost of the Nordic countries. Comprising the mainland and two self-governing territories, Greenland and the Faroe Islands, the islands are characterized by flat lands and a temperate climate. The country encompasses an area of 42,924 square km and houses 5.7 million people.
Danish is the official language of the Kingdom of Denmark and is spoken by the majority of the population. However, English (totalling 86%), German (totalling 47%) and Swedish are the main foreign languages spoken in Denmark.
The Danish monarchy is the oldest continuing monarchy in the world and has existed for over 1,000 years. Currently, the country is ruled by Queen Margrethe II with her Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen Denmark. The Royal Family plays an important symbolic role, both at home and abroad but has a limited role in the government of Denmark under the Danish constitution.
The award system of Denmark and the regulations for who is allowed to wear which medals, varies greatly. The current honour-system has been created one step at a time since the 16th century. The system consists of royal orders and medals, official/governmental medals and some few private medals that have been approved by the monarch.


Barac, Borna. Reference Catalogue Orders, Medals and Decorations of the World Instituted Until 1945 Part II - Bronze Book D-G. Zagreb: OBOL-naklada do.o.o., 2010.

Also see the "General Sources" page in the Footer.

367 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Denmark

Scroll Top