Bavaria is a landlocked federal state of Germany. It is the oldest and the largest state in Germany. In Bavaria lives 13 million people. The capital and largest city is Munich. A other famous city in Bavaria is Nuremberg. Bavaria has seven parts: Oberbayern (Upper Bavaria), Niederbayern (Lower Bavaria), Schwaben (Swabia), Mittelfranken (Middle Franconia), Unterfranken (Lower Franconia), Oberfranken (Upper Franconia) and Oberpfalz (Upper Palatinate) and it has 71 districts and 25 free cities.
There are also three primary dialects spoken in Bavaria: Austro-Bavarian, Swabian German and East Franconian German.

Bavaria became in the 6th century a stem duchy, but the earliest settlement was by the Iron Age Celtic tribes. From the Middle Ages up to the beginning of the 19th century Bavaria was a powerful and mighty Dukedom. From January 1, 1806 to November 8, 1918, Bavaria was a Kingdom. he six Bavarian kings reigned as constitutional monarchs. Ludwig III was the last King of Bavaria, he ruled from from 1913 to 1918.

During the the Third Reich of Adolf Hitler Munich and Nuremberg became seen as Nazi strongholds and during World War II Munich was heavily bombed and was occupied by U.S. troops. On 1st December 1946 a constitution for the Free State of Bavaria was adopted by referendum.

162 results found

Filter By

  • Add To My Medals

  • Quick View

  • Germany

Scroll Top